Goals

A teacher never stops truly learning. For now, I am targeting certain areas in which I hope to learn and grow most in order to improve as an educator.

Classroom management is one of my biggest areas of focus right now. I know it will take time for me to find my management style which fits best for me and my personality as a teacher, but my goal is for it to be as effective as possible in that all of my students are engaged and excited about math.

I’m realizing more and more how explicit and precise you need to be in a math classroom. It’s very easy for me to blow over little ideas that students may miss, simply because I’m so used to them or assume they know. This is going to be my biggest struggle, but I can see I’m already improving and realizing where I need to be more concrete in my explanations.

One thought on “Goals

  1. Yes, it is easy to skip over the little things we take for granted. One way I get around that is to try to find the “hidden wow” in each topic. Solving (1/2)x = 5? Blah, right? But wait, you don’t need to “divide by 1/2” to solve that — you can just use your reasoning: “Half of what is 5? Well, 10 of course!!” I wonder how else can we think about that…

    Ok, you inspired me to write a blog post. Check it out!
    http://profjonh.blogspot.com/2015/02/finding-hidden-wows.html

    It may also help you get inside your kids heads if you spend some time looking at the great materials at http://nixthetricks.com/ and http://mathmistakes.org/ .

    Let me know what you think of those sites!

    Like

Leave a Reply

